Divorce in Pennsylvania can take between 90 days and 12 months on average, depending on whether it's fault or not fault. The mandatory waiting period for no-fault dissolution of marriage is 90 days. The average contested divorce takes 5 to 12 months, and an uncontested divorce takes about 4 to 6 months. A spouse can file for divorce in PA without a court hearing if the other spouse is institutionalized because of a mental disorder.
Waiting period is 18 months after institutionalization date. Nor should there be a discharge plan within another 18 months. Learn how long a divorce can take and what factors and issues can prolong divorce proceedings from prominent PA divorce attorney Lee Schwartz. A divorce can be completed in as little as 4 to 6 weeks, or it can take years.
Find out why and how you can help the divorce process move faster. A typical Pennsylvania divorce takes about, on average, 120 days (about 4 months) to finalize. In the simplest of divorces, those that are no-fault and mutually agreed upon by the parties, meaning that both you and your spouse agree to sign whatever is necessary to complete the process as soon as possible, 4 months tends to be the average time frame. If you are involved in a divorce action, you should consider seeking custody, alimony, support, spousal property, counseling and attorney's fees before the divorce is finalized.
The quickest divorce cases are those where both parties consent to the divorce and when there are no minor children or marital assets to divide. The type of divorce you choose and the willingness of both to agree on the division of marital property and spousal debts, child custody, child support and spousal support, as applicable, will determine how long your divorce will take in Pennsylvania. As with alimony, the court must be asked to divide marital assets as part of the divorce lawsuit before the court finally grants the divorce. If you're thinking about ending your marriage, you might wonder how long it takes to get divorced and if there is such a thing as a quickie divorce in Pennsylvania.
To avoid divorce delays caused by litigation, parties who are unable to resolve their differences on their own should consider entering divorce mediation. If a couple seeks divorce without establishing fault grounds (discussed below), then Pennsylvania law imposes a one-year waiting period from the time of separation before either spouse can file for divorce. If your case needs to move toward litigation so that we can protect your rights or get the desired outcome, one of your options is for us to ask the court for the appointment of a divorce teacher and a divorce teacher will be appointed. The three categories of divorce in Pennsylvania are divorce by mutual consent, without consent, and fault.
When filing for divorce on fault grounds, you will need to provide the court with a specific reason for your divorce. If both spouses consent to the divorce and have some marital assets, the divorce process may take a little longer. The person filing for divorce (the plaintiff) files a lawsuit explaining to the court why they should get a divorce from their spouse (the defendant). You can learn more about the divorce process in Pennsylvania and the legal issues you will encounter in Pennsylvania Divorce %26 Family Laws.
A divorce by separation requires the consent of only one party and may be the only option available if the other party refuses to accept the divorce or cannot be found. However, it's important to understand that every divorce is different and that your divorce may take longer or shorter than someone else's. .