Unlike many other states, Pennsylvania requires that couples seeking a “no fault divorce to wait a period of time before they can file for their divorce, but that process may be shorter in certain situations. If a couple is seeking a divorce without establishing grounds for fault (discussed further below), then Pennsylvania law imposes a one-year waiting period from the time of separation before either spouse can file for divorce. A no-fault divorce is based on a couple's irreconcilable differences or an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage. The mandatory waiting period for a no-fault marriage dissolution is 90 days.
How much does a PA divorce cost?
A no-fault divorce means that spouses do not accuse each other of any misconduct, such as adultery, desertion, cruel treatment, or other, and just want their divorce to be finalized based on irretrievable breakdown. We also file your case in a county that has low court costs and has a staff that concentrates on handling divorce cases for people across Pennsylvania. However, it is almost always preferable to have a lawyer involved, even if it is just to review your divorce agreement for mistakes you could be making or issues you could be missing. Typically, the divorce will get more expensive with each contested issue and with each round of unsuccessful settlement efforts.
What is the quickest divorce in PA?
While some couples can finalize their divorce process within a few months, others can be involved in a more complicated case that may go on for many years. Procedurally, this allows the parties to request a divorce decree as soon as 90 days after the divorce complaint is filed and served on the other spouse. In an uncontested divorce, the parties still have to negotiate important matters such as alimony or spousal support, property division (e. As with most legal proceedings, you'll need to submit some forms to start your uncontested Pennsylvania divorce case.